jump to navigation

What, Me Worry? February 3, 2009

Posted by antimeme in Apple, Switcher, Uncategorized.
trackback
I have concerns. I also have issues, but that’s another story. Allow me to explain…

I am not worried about the lack of ports. I have never, ever used firewire. My ex had a firewire connector on her 2nd gen nano, but it didn’t do anything when I plugged it in. And one USB is plenty. I usually only have my wireless keyboard and mouse plugged in to my desktop. the only other things I use USB for is for charging and syncing my devices, and for printing. The mouse and keyboard are bluetooth, so I don’t need them. I can print remotely, so I don’t need that. One device at a time for the other stuff is fine with me. 
I am also unconcerned about the other ports. I have an iPod and an iPhone, so I know the headphones I have will fit. I also like that there is just that one port for video output. with one simple connector, I can connect to a VGA device, or a DVI, or even Dual-Link DVI. It is a simple, elegant solution that works perfectly for me, as I have all of those types of devices.
I have little need for a CD/DVD drive, but I got the SuperDrive just in case. I doubt I’ll be taking it anywhere, but it is nice to have if I need it.  Here again, Apple came up with a simple solution that works for me. 

I am similarly unconcerned with the lack of a microphone jack. I have never had a mike that was quiet and effective until I got a Logitech USB headset. 
I hope that I get 3.5 – 4 hours on the battery. That will be better than any laptop I’ve had previously. I once took a flight where I wanted to watch a couple of DVDs, so I brought a spare battery. It turned out to be more trouble than it was worth, so I never did it again. I plan to use my iPhone for entertainment, and I have extra power for that. Another potential problem solved.

So, the only real problem I have is the skimpy hard drive.

I have spent years ripping all of my music into digital format. I have more music than the entire capacity of the 80Gb PATA hard drive that will be on my Air. I could transfer them onto a USB drive, but I don’t want to. What I’d really like to do is to leave them on my desktop hard drive and access them wirelessly. But, I don’t want to just connect to the iTunes library remotely – I want the files stored on the Windows machine to actually be my Library on the Air. You see, one of the things I want to do is to sync my iPhone through the MacBook. I understand that the calendar and contact functions will actually work on the Air. 

I hope it will be possible.
Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

